RSS

It’s Monday – What Are You Reading? (26 Dec)

27 Dec

its-monday-what-are-you-reading

It’s Monday – What are you reading? is a place to meet up and share what you have been, are and about to be reading over the week. It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment, and er… add to that ever growing TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started with J Kaye’s Blog and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date.

I’ve been really horrible about blogging over the last few months – I realize it, do a few posts to get “up to date” and then promptly lapse back into oblivion. Its part of the reason why I’ve been carefully pondering my word for 2017 (as part of Sheila @ Book Journey’s Word of the Year). so I do know that one of my goals for 2017 is to be a more consistent blogger – both with these weekly status updates, but also getting reviews posted in a more timely manner. But onto my current reading shenanigans…

I spent the last couple of days deep in a binge read of Catherine Bybee’s Not Quite series – thanks to Kindle Unlimited, I was able to read all of these as part of my monthly subscription. They are like candy to me – I keep reading them and don’t want to stop – very similar to my candy eating approach. Now I’m kind of up in the air on what series I’m going to read next…so if you have any suggestions, please let me know!

lesmisOn a audiobook front, I’m alternating between three different books to include my third attempt at Les Miserables – I swear one of these days I am going to finish this book! I’m alternating my listening of Les Miserables, with The Poisoner’s Handbook – which is all about the development of forensic chemistry in the 1920’s and different ways that poison’s that killed people (either through murder or incidental causes) were identified and how it influenced the overall body of medical examinations and death investigations. And while at work, I’m listening to the next book in JD Robb’s In Death series – Promises in Death – i’m only a couple of hours into it, but I’ve seriously teared up a few times.

playing-the-partOn my kindle – i’m working my way through my normal wide variety of books – I’m on a pretty solid contemporary romance kick right now. I’ve had both Sea Glass Sunrise (Donna Kauffman) and Half Moon Hill (Toni Blake) chosen for me as part of a reading challenge based on the board game, Monopoly. I also started Playing the Part (Robin Covington) this afternoon as a quick read – double bonus since Robin is a local author for me to read.

In other news, I’m still trying to figure out what my first book of 2017 will be so that I can get that blog post prepped and i’m making plans for Bout of Books 18 which will be held in the first week in January.

Wishing everyone a very Merry Christmas, and a Happy Holidays

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 27, 2016 in It's Monday! What are you reading?

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “It’s Monday – What Are You Reading? (26 Dec)

  1. Lance

    December 27, 2016 at 1:48 pm

    Finishing up my last two baseball books of 2016 on the Oakland Athletics of the 1970’s who won the World Series three straight years and another that is a collection of articles by a longtime Sports Illustrated writer. Also listening to Bill O’Reilly’s “Killing the Rising Sun” about the Japanese conflicts in WWII. To start the year, I will be reading “Five Days at Memorial” about what a hospital in New Orleans went through during Hurricane Katrina

    Happy Holidays to you, Dee and a peaceful New Year.

     
    • Dee

      December 27, 2016 at 11:03 pm

      I’ve heard good things about Five Days at Memorial – I might have to put it on the 2017 list

       
  2. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    December 28, 2016 at 5:02 am

    I find blogging consistently to be a real challenge sometimes – I always have these great ideas and big goals for building and growing my blog, and then life gets in the way. My goal this year is to plan ahead a bit more, so I always have something coming down the pipeline for the blog, and don’t always have to write my posts in a panic the night before…! Good luck to us all! 😊

     
    • Dee

      December 28, 2016 at 10:11 pm

      me too! this year has been horrible on the blogging front ( several periods of over a month with no posts is so bad!)
      night before panic…try day of panic 🙂

       

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.